Skip to content

European Trade Organisations

European Trade Organisations  Whilst today the EU is the world’s largest trading bloc, roll back sixty years and things looked different.  Back in 1957 when it was created by the Treaty of Rome, the European Economic Community, now the EU, had just 6 members - Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany. At around the same time the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) was formed as an alternative for those 7 countries - Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK - who didn’t want to join the EEC or ‘common market’.  Since the 1960’s what is now the EU gained in popularity with all of the founding countries switching across from EFTA except for Norway and Switzerland, and only Liechtenstein and Iceland joining EFTA afresh.


Sign up to the FAS newsletter

Receive updates on news, events and publications from Scotland’s Farm Advisory Service